Walking it off…

Nowton Park

Nowton Park, Bury St Edmunds

So, I surfaced after quite a booze-soaked New Year’s Eve, peeked out from under the duvet, moved a bit and realised “Yay! No hangover!”

I celebrated the glorious lack of any sign of a headache with a very long walk in the sunshine. I love walking in the park when the weather’s gorgeous like it is today, with my ipod on and just my thoughts for company. I’ve always done it, I can remember when I was in my teens I’d get my trusty Walkman and walk from one side of Ipswich to the other, deep in thought (or possibly daydreaming about the boy I was stalking at the time who lived over the other side of town. He only ever caught me once. I told him I was ‘just passing’)

When I got older, living in Cambridge, I used to walk to work and back most days and it was a good 45 minute walk. It was a lovely route though, which took me through the common and the river and past the ducks. In spring it was gorgeous. I remember listening to Suede and Oasis as I wandered into work, and if the weather was nice it really set me up for the day. I also used to get my Walkman on and just get out of the house for a walk when I needed alone time. It was brilliant for clearing my head and blowing away cobwebs.

Now the wonderful world of technology has given me access to practically my entire music collection in one small gadget, so I love just making up playlists and going for a stomp. I’ve got so much crap on there that I don’t usually have it on shuffle. The likelihood of getting ‘Last Christmas’ in July or something I downloaded, didn’t like but never got around to removing is too high, and who wants to ruin a good walk with a rubbish soundtrack?

Y’see, this is what exercise and fitness are all about. There’s no point forcing yourself to do things you hate, because at the first opportunity, you’ll stop doing them. But walking in the park with my ipod on? I’ll never get bored with that.

Today I was stomping along, feeling the chilly breeze, smiling into the sunshine and thinking ‘Welcome 2013’. I’m planning, plotting and scheming, full of ideas for this blog (fitness class reviews, love-bombing the Daily Mail comments pages, interviewing people who inspire me) and I’m looking forward to sharing the ups and downs of my year with you.

So…Happy New Year!

3 Comments

Filed under General, Lifestyle

3 responses to “Walking it off…

  1. Technology is quite amazing isn’t it? Sometimes I’ll walk with music, sometimes I just walk…..but it is one of my favorite things to do…..when I feel stuck, I’ll just go for a walk…….it’s an amazing healer! Looking forward to seeing what you plot and scheme up for 2013 :). Happy new year to you!

  2. Thansk Gina…I know what you mean, there’s something about the whole one foot in front of the other thing that makes it a bit like a meditation! Sometimes I can’t remember how I got to where I’m going on foot, I get so wrapped up in whatever I’m daydreaming about …

  3. I love walking meditations! 😀 They are my favorite kinds.

Leave a Reply

