When I grow up I want to be a fatshion blogger

My Big Fat

Times, they are a-changing. I can’t remember a time I’ve felt so enthusiastic about the fashion industry, and being a non-standard size part of it.

Yes, it’s London Plus Size Fashion Weekend in a few days, and good luck to them. With Simply Be and Anna Scholz both flaunting their best on the catwalk, and every fat fashion blogger worth her size 16 skinny jeans being invited (I have neither size 16 skinny jeans or an invitation, but I’m not bitter) it’s going to be HUGE and I can’t wait to see the pictures, read the write ups and get a guest blog from one of the lovely ladies lucky enough to be granted a press pass!

It’s not just that. I just read a fantastic article in The Sunday Times (here’s a link to My Big Fat Fashion Statement) and it was so positive. These girls are fat and they don’t care. They are also drop dead gorgeous, fashionable, feisty and good role models for anyone who thinks the only way to be happy, healthy, attractive or acceptable to society is by dieting to within an inch of your life and not going out if you reach a size 14 or more.

Georgina Horne (right), who has working her curves down to a fine art, bright red lips and a body confidence most skinny women don’t even seem to posess, nailed something for me when she said she hates standard thin-hate sayings like “Real men want meat, dogs want bones.”

Georgina said, “What part of {abusing other people} is getting your own back? The biggest payback is being happy in yourself”

Or maybe the three modelling contracts she has?

I would love to be able to say I have th esky-high confidence levels of sassy fat fashionistas like Georgina, Marie Denee, Nicolette Mason and Bethany Rutter. I’m working on it, and it’s bloggers like these that are giving fat girls like me a dose of feel good fashion and kick-ass body positivity that just can’t help but make any plus size fashion lover feel like she belongs.

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty, Fashion, Media

One response to “When I grow up I want to be a fatshion blogger

  1. Great message! I just got back to PS fashion blogging after years of being MIA…I love that there are so many of us women out there who realize that this isn’t just about fashion, it’s also about “body positivity”!

Leave a Reply

