Proud Mama

Red-Haired Woman LaughingWell I did it! I actually did it! I finally worked out how to use the Kindle Publishing software (after a LOT of swearing) and got my book uploaded. So it’s there. Oh. My. God. Here’s the blurb:

“Back in 1987, when Margaret Thatcher was still in charge, the Pet Shop Boys were number one, and I was just 16, I went on my very first diet. This is the story of how I got sucked into the diet trap, and how long it took me to escape its clutches.

With the help of some other diet escapees, Gorgeously Full Fat looks at how the media, fashion magazines and just wanting to fit in keep people like me trapped in diets that don’t work, and then, what it’s like dating as a thirty-something chubby girl.

There’s also some wise and rather fabulous advice from people who’ve been there, done that and got the T-shirt in more than one size on life after dieting.

Live like you love yourself!”

And here’s the link if you like the sound of it: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gorgeously-Full-Fat-yourself-ebook/dp/B00EPHX54C

I can’t believe I did it. I was a bit scared about putting so much of me and my life out there, but it’s all done in a super-positive and upbeat way, even when I’m talking about being dumped, divorced or binge eating pork pies. There’s lots of stuff in there I hope that anyone who’s been on and off diets will relate to – talking about diet clubs, different types of book, the way we feel (not just me) when we go on a diet and it’s all new and exciting.

There’s a section at the end, after my disastrous diet stories and tales of dates with complete Muppets (and my beloved Moley) that features words of wisdom from people who have ditched diets, talking about how they did it and how it feels to be free. There’s also sections on people-pleasing and fat talk, two of the worst things ever if you’re trying to heal your addiction to weight loss.

There’s a section of links to books, blogs, websites and even Twitter and Pinterest pages full of inspirational images, advice and general loveliness.

So it’s not ALL about me.

It’s out there, I gave birth to my book baby. I’m an author-girl. I think I need to lie down…

2 Comments

Filed under Media, My weight story

2 responses to “Proud Mama

  1. Woohoo! Congratulations Sarah! I’m off to check it out right now. Well done you my lovely! x

Leave a Reply

