Review: Wingz by FatPhrocks

Wingz2

The Selfie is not my friend…

OK, I have to hold my hands up and confess right now that FatPhrocks are a client of mine. But I’m quite honestly wearing a pair of their darling little Wingz as I type, and I’m going to give them an honest write up.

Wingz are a hybrid underwear/outerwear garment that answers the question “What can I use to cover my arms when it gets cold?”

If, like me, you aren’t a fan of long sleeves, but you know the time’s coming to cover up your arms because goosebumps just aren’t attractive, if you own a pair of Wingz you might be able to eke out a little bit more wear from your sleeveless summer tops, rather than sadly shut them away in a drawer after September.

They look a bit odd when you get them out of their packaging, and then if you’re like me, you might put them on the wrong way around, despite the helpful little tag that indicates where the back is. Ahem. They feel a bit tricky when you first put them on, I had to fiddle with mine to make it hide my bra straps, and sit where I wanted it to.

Once I’d got mine in place over my bra and under my top, though, it felt very comfortable, and less bulky than the jersey top that I’d been wearing under my Joe Brown’s tunic. I picked the lacy sleeves, but I also have a plain black pair and a dressy pair with floaty arms that will look good under a lot of my summer short sleeved tops.

They are the perfect length for me, although I know another blogger has reviewed them and she mentioned that she found the sleeves too short. Personally, I hate sleeves that come all the way to my wrist and I always roll them up anyway, so it’s fine by me. I’d say the lace ones are elbow length, and the plain ones look about the same.

I had no problem getting them to fit my arms either, they feel stretchy enough to accommodate a bit of bingo wingage and they don’t feel too tight on me at all. I did have to pull the band down at the back to get it to stay in place, but once it was there it stayed put all day. I know, don’t remind me, I haven’t done anything more energetic than the washing up in them.

I will definitely be wearing my new Wingz again, and I’d recommend them to anyone who isn’t yet ready to put her sleeveless tops away for the winter…

Wingz1

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a Reply

