100 Days of Positivity

Positive

 

I’ve been feeling a bit *meh* lately.

Maybe it’s just winter hangover, or it might be the fact we’ve been dealing with illness in the family and hubby’s job issues. But I don’t want to dwell on that. The fact is, I’ve been feeling grumpy a lot more than I usually do, just lately. And I don’t like it. I used to be fun, right?

So I’ve set myself a little challenge. For 100 days (and more if I can) I plan to turn up the volume on my positivity. Even when I have PMS, or the laptop won’t play nice, or something horrid happens.

I’m not Pollyanna, I know there’s going to be days when I just want to hide under the duvet with a bag of popcorn and not come out ’til tomorrow. but most of the time, there’s no reason for me feeling a bit underwhelmed, it’s just me dwelling on things I have zero control over.

As I was writing this, I got an email through with this message:

“The pursuit of pleasure requires the willingness to reach for the good, no matter the circumstance. Reach for it – you’ll find it.”

Ha!

So, for at least the next 100 days, this blog, my Facebook and Twitter feeds and all, will be positively brimming with positivity. I’m not going to post anything grumpy, not even if it’s just the obligatory “I can’t sleep” at 3am.

It’s an experiment. Can you REALLY think and talk yourself into being happier?

As well as making my social media and blogs shiny happy places, I have other plans. I’ve been a bit rubbish about self-care – taking time out for myself, no wonder I feel a bit blah. Just ONE thing every day is all it takes to ramp up feelings of positivity and happiness, and I’ve been ignoring them because I have to update a vitally important client blog, or clean the loo.

Blogs and bogs will still need attending to. But if I want to take some time out to watch my favourite DVDs, sing along to Adele songs badly at the top of my voice, read books in coffee shops or just listen to a meditation CD and do a bit of Reiki, then dammit, I will. Nobody is going to miss me if I don’t reply to a Facebook message within 20 minutes but I MISS ME.

Life is meant to be fun. We’re not meant to spend it miserable. I refuse to play the competitive moaning game on Facebook any more.

Are you in?

 

This video never gets old…

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under 100 days of Positivity

5 responses to “100 Days of Positivity

  1. OK, I’m in. I started Lent with the goal of being more positive, less political, and have failed miserably! But I’m willing to start a 100 days…it’s going to be hard for me…

  2. I’m there..although I’m the other way..honestly, I think if I believe it enough pigs could fly! xxx

Leave a Reply

